Newfoundland and Labrador

Fun Facts

Women in Provincial Legislature

Kathy Dunderdale First Women Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador

Women Mayors Across all Municipalities

Dorothy Wyatt First Woman Mayor City of St. John's

Women MPS from Newfoundland and Labrador

Yvonne Jones: First NunatuKavut Leader of an official party in the NL Legislature as a Liberal Party Leader in the province

Meet our Co-Chairs

Gillian Pearson (she/her):  Gillian is a community advocate passionate about social and economic policy, public engagement, and true representative democracy. She serves on a variety of boards and committees, including a local Family Resource Centre, and is also part of the Gender and Politics Research Lab at Memorial University. She is the founder of the group Parents for Affordable Childcare and believes children are one of our greatest resources.

Karla Hayward (she/her): Karla is an outspoken, intersectional feminist. She is an ardent promoter of civic engagement, especially in the elections process at every level. A passionate volunteer, Karla has worked with numerous community organizations and is the creator of Mighty Girls Day and Project Grow NL as well as former Co-Chair of the St. John’s Status of Women Council. Karla is neurodivergent and is a vocal advocate for normalization and inclusion. 

Join us at an event.

No upcoming events.

Help us make it happen.

To continue to advocate and to organize, we need your help.
Your donation—whatever the size—goes to helping us continue get the message out.